Tails magazine presents...

Reader’s Tail: In case you needed another reason to adopt instead of shop

In Readers Tails on November 11, 2008 at 4:04 pm

One of our readers from Rocky Mountain Cattle Dog Rescue wrote to us about how one of the rescue’s dogs saved his new mom. The dog, Elwood, was removed from an abusive situation and went to live with his new mom in Idaho a couple months ago. Here is what she wrote to the rescue:

“I have no doubt in my mind that I would be dead at this moment if were not for adopting Elwood. This morning I stepped out on my front porch to see what Elwood was barking at and low and behold there was a young cougar not but three feet away from me ready to pounce. Elwood charged the cougar and scared him away from me. He sent that cougar running with his tail between his legs. I know in my heart that if we had decided to adopt a puppy instead of Elwood I would have been a cougars breakfast. I really do thank you for all the hard work you and your volunteers do to help place these wonderful dogs. I owe Elwood my life and in a way you and his foster parents as well.”

cougar

Leave a Reply

