Tails magazine presents...

What Do You Think?

In Uncategorized on July 16, 2008 at 6:02 pm

I think I have been a cat person for as long as I could choose between cats and dogs. My family cat, Jake, was a stray in our neighborhood that I first spotted and named over ten years ago. He is a dear addition to my family and because of my love for him, I often feel a little offended when people say they hate cats, think cats are creepy, unfriendly, and etc. I have the impression that it is more socially acceptable to express a dislike of cats. When I have commented that I do not like when dogs jump on me (I’ll admit, I am a little afraid of big dogs), lick my face, or bark non-stop, people have sometimes looked at me as though I were muttering high treason. I feel a little like an outcast for preferring felines. Of course, it is perfectly all right to be more of a dog person than a cat person or vice versa, however I feel cat people receive some slack for that preference.

My question is: Has anyone else detected a slight animosity towards preferring cats?

-Amanda Giffi

  1. I bsolutely agree with this. As a feelow cat lover I feel that I am constantly judged. Judged so much in fact, that while I do not actually hate dogs, I have proclaimed it just because of the negativity i receive for being a cat lover. Why is it suddenly cool to hate cats? Is it because dogs are so quaint and Americana?

Leave a Reply

