Tails magazine presents...

Who’s right?

In Uncategorized on May 12, 2008 at 7:26 pm

A driver that struck and killed a Miniature Pinscher in Minnesota is suing the dog’s guardians for the damage to his car, according to the AP. The family has retaliated with a countersuit.

Having grown up with my fair share of pets who try to bolt out the door when given a chance, I know that sometimes, no matter how careful you are, they just get out. I’ve been spotted one more than one occasion in my life chasing after a loose pooch who just thinks it’s fun to run into the street — and I’m so thankful that none of mine were ever injured because of it. Needless to say, I’m having a hard time wrapping my head around this story. Especially this line from the driver of the car: “I have complete compassion for [the dog’s guardians]. I know how it feels. I love dogs. But once you get them, they are your responsibility.”

I absolutely agree about the responsibility part. But suing someone for damage to a 10-year-old Honda Civic after killing their animal companion? That does not seem compassionate to me. Perhaps the driver’s lawsuit would have more merit (in my book at least) if he had been injured himself. But as it stands, not so much. What do you think?

  1. The case was thrown out. Thank god!

  2. this guy makes me sick. there was a similar story to this — except the driver hit a CHILD and tried to sue. what’s wrong with people?

  3. This guy was either trying to get 15 minutes of fame or/and is a complete idiot. I agree with Laura, thank goodness the judical system work up and threw the case out.

Leave a Reply

